Skip to the content

Congratulations to the 2021 PbS Barbara Allen-Hagen Finalists

Performance-based Standards (PbS) is very proud to announce the finalists for the 2021 PbS Barbara Allen-Hagen Award that recognizes facilities that best exemplify PbS’ commitment to treating all youths as one of our own. We were pleased to receive several applications this year – all using PbS’ data-driven improvement model to develop and implement strategic plans that changed their practices and services.

The five finalists presented thorough facility improvement plans that have been their focus for a combined 20 years. Not only did each address and overcome an obstacle, but they successfully navigated the additional health and safety challenges brought on by the pandemic.

The 2021 PbS Barbara Allen-Hagen Award Finalists are:

Correction Category

  • Ferris School, Wilmington, DE: Assistant Superintendent George Iannetta, Superintendent Tanya Banks, Deputy Director Renee Ciconte and Delaware Division of Youth Rehabilitative Services Director John Stevenson
  • Naselle Youth Camp, Naselle, WA: Facilities Administrator Chris Dorman, Mental Health Treatment Coordinator Heather Brainard, Superintendent Pat Escamilla, Institution Program Administrator Debbie Lyne and Washington Juvenile Rehabilitation Interim Assistant Secretary Rebecca Kelly
  • North Dakota Youth Correctional Center, Mandan, ND: Quality Assurance Manager Courtney Staub, Director of Youth Correctional Center Tim Tausend, Quality Assurance Administrator Casey Traynor and North Dakota Division of Juvenile Services Director Lisa Bjergaard

Detention and Assessment Category

  • Illinois Youth Center- Warrenville Reception, Naperville, IL: Clinical Services Supervisor Cherryl Holliday, Superintendent Lynette Pangburn, Interim Public Information Officer/Senior Policy Advisor Omar Jamil and Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice Director Heidi Mueller
  • Maricopa County Juvenile Detention Center- Durango, Phoenix, AZ: Operations Manager Bryan LaBrake, Deputy Chief of Detention Services Bureau Michaella Heslin and Maricopa County Juvenile Chief of Probation Eric Meaux

Stay tuned over the summer for spotlight blogs about the finalists' impressive work.

Award winners and finalists will be celebrated during the PbS Annual Awards Night on Aug. 13, 2021 in Nashville, TN.

The PbS Barbara Allen-Hagen Award was established in 2007 to honor Barbara Allen-Hagen and her retirement from the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP). Her dedication to improving the quality of life in facilities has helped drive PbS to its current success. The award is given to a correction, detention/assessment and community program who best exemplify PbS’ commitment to treating all youths as one of our own by developing and implementing strategic plans to change practices that results in positive outcomes for youths, staff and families.

Read more about:  Awards, Barbara Allen-Hagen

About the author

Kim Godfrey Lovett

Kim Godfrey Lovett

Kim is the executive director of the PbS Learning Institute. Kim was hired when CJCA incorporated in 1994 and has worked since it's inception to create the PbS system of continuous improvement to help facilities and agencies raise the quality of life and better conditions of confinement in youth facilities nationwide. She earned two master’s degrees: in journalism (Northwestern University) and criminal justice (Northeastern University.) She worked as a newspaper reporter for seven years prior to joining CJCA.

PbS has been a partner in assisting this facility to become a dynamic work environment that is not satisfied with maintaining the status quo.