Skip to the content
Kim Godfrey Lovett

Welcome from the Executive Director

Recognizing the challenges we are facing as a nation and as juvenile justice professionals, the PbS team thanks you for continuing the work to help young people involved in our facilities and programs. We've heard stories from across the country of illnesses and loss of life as well as creativity and joy. Please keep sharing - it helps all of us feel connected and supported. Thank you also for making the time to connect with us for our first ever virtual training. One advantage of holding the training virtually is we can include more of your team members so please pass long the information and links. The sessions will be live except for the Annual Executive Director's Report, which will be available for viewing when convenient for you. It's a unique time for us to set the course for the future and we'd like to share our vision for PbS with you.

Session details and registration


Thursday, Aug. 6 from 1:30 - 2:30 PM EDT

Guest Speaker Elizabeth Cauffman

A look at adolescent development and how agencies can care for youths with Elizabeth Cauffman, University of California Irvine.

At the broadest level, Dr. Cauffman’s research addresses the intersect between adolescent development and juvenile justice. She has published over 100 articles, chapters, and books on a range of topics in the study of contemporary adolescence, including adolescent brain development, risk-taking and decision-making, parent-adolescent relationships, and juvenile justice.

Thursday, Aug. 6 from 3:00 - 4:00 PM EDT

A Conversation on the Next Normal

Listen in to a roundtable discussion of a diverse group of the PbS community talking about their experiences over the past few months and what they think should create the next normal.

Friday, Aug. 7 from 3:00 - 4:00 PM EDT

Barbara Allen-Hagen Finalists share their FIP process

Want to know the secret to winning the PbS Barbara Allen-Hagen Award? This year's finalists will share with you the keys to creating successful, sustainable positive change in their facilities. Finalists are from: Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections, Massachusetts Department of Youth Services, Alaska Division of Juvenile Justice and Maricopa County, AZ, Juvenile Probation Department. The winners will be celebrated during the 2020 Awards Ceremony.